vividdawn

Vivid Dawn's random ramblings

Torture for the greater good…

on March 26, 2012

It’s so frustrating not to be able to explain to animals that health care may not be pleasant in the moment, but helps them feel better eventually.

Every time I give Paizly her medicine, you would think I was squirting acid in  her face, not syringing medicine in her mouth. Four times a day until Thursday, then only twice a day….for the rest of her life.    *sigh*

I’m also supposed to express her bladder once a day, but haven’t been able to yet because she fusses, squirms and nips at me so much. So then her urine festers and she gets sick, and needs medicine…and gets fighty with that! Sheesh.

This might seem horrible in some opinions, but sometimes I wonder if I should just euthanize her so she doesn’t have to deal with all this junk every day. All she does is lay on the couch, except to eat and use the litter box once a day. That’s no life! I try to get her to play, but she just turns away and acts like I’m a bother.

I’m taking her to the vet tomorrow, so they can show me how to express HER bladder. Her pelvic area is deformed, so that may be why I’m having trouble doing it. I’ve read articles, looked at pictures and watched videos to learn how to do it on a normal cat… but when I try on Paizly, I just can’t get it. I’m afraid I might be squeezing the wrong thing, if things are all misplaced, and that’s why she nips at me, and I don’t want to force it and rupture something like her spleen or liver!

Leave a Reply

