vividdawn

Vivid Dawn's random ramblings

Biological and physical maintenance

on June 27, 2012

My menstrual cramps are so agonizing that I can’t get out of bed (even just to the bathroom or get a drink makes me queasy with pain). So, I’ve been on the Depo-Provera shots for the last 10 or so years.

Besides the fact it’s not supposed to be used that long, I’m so skinny with no real fat for the medicine to go in, the shots make my thigh so cramped I can hardly walk for about 3 days… which sort of defeats the purpose (being able to be up/mobile and functional) of the injections in the first place. Granted, it’s only every 3 months, but enough of an annoyance that I wanted something longer lasting. Doctor suggested Nexplanon.

Yesterday I got the Nexplanon birth control implant. Waited over an hour to have a 5 minute procedure! My arm is more sore and tender today than it was yesterday…I figure it’ll be like that for a few more days until my body finally adjusts and heals from having a rod (4cm in length, 2mm in diameter) of plastic shoved into it.

At noon today I was allowed to take the pressure bandage off. But put it back on (loosely), because every time my shirt sleeve brushed against the site, it felt like somebody was swiping a hot coal on my arm! So I’ll keep the bandage (gauze pad and stretchy-“tape”) over it, just to give it a little padding and protection for another couple of days. Supposed to keep the little strip of cloth tape over the hole (yes, there’s a HOLE in my skin!) for 3-5 days anyway, until it heals closed.

Also yesterday – the “check engine” light came on in my car. Called the place I usually go to for repairs, and they said a diagnostic would cost $43. Uummm…that much, just for somebody to LOOK for a problem? I researched on the internet and it could be anything as simple as a bad spark plug, to a bad catalytic converter – now, I’m not going to pay $40+ just to be told I need a $5 or $10 spark plug!

Took the car into AutoZone and they did the check for free. My gas cap had come loose. Yup, soooo glad I didn’t pay nearly $50 to be told to tighten my gas cap!

Leave a Reply

